The Minnesota Chapter of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (MnATSA) is the state chapter of The Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA).  ATSA is a non-profit interdisciplinary organization dedicated to the advancement of professional standards and practices in the field of sex offender evaluation and treatment.  An international organization, ATSA holds a membership of more than 2,100 professionals committed to the prevention of sexual assault through effective management of sex offenders.

The state chapter is organized to acknowledge and promote the national and international programs of ATSA and advance education, research, and professional intervention regarding sexual abuse issues in the state of Minnesota.


April 14, 2020

Dear MnATSA Colleagues and Members,

I hope this message finds you and those close to you healthy and safe during this uncertain time. Since we will not be gathering together in person in the coming weeks, I am sending out various announcements today. Please remember if you made hotel reservations for the conference you need to cancel them before April 20!!

A special thanks and appreciation for our amazing Conference Co-Chairs Paul Rodriguez and Mindy Malm. They led the committee to put together an amazing conference! We all wish we could have seen it come to fruition. The following individuals were part of this year’s Conference Planning Committee. Thanks everyone, your hard work did not go unnoticed!

  • Angela Kroening Johnson
  • Elizabeth Griffin
  • Halie Rostberg
  • Heidi Freeman
  • Kathryn Lockie
  • Linda Wolf
  • Rosemary Munns
  • Traci Thomas Card
  • Riki Kravitz
  • Kevin Nelson

We could also not have put the conference together or gradually worked to cancel the event without our Conference Coordinators Don and Jeri Slinger. We are so grateful we have you!

The conference signals the end of Board terms and the beginning of new ones. I want to thank Diane Neal, Jannine Hebert (now the Secretary of the ATSA Executive Board and Executive Committee), Peter Puffer and Elizabeth Griffin for their service. They have provided valuable input and collaboration. We are thankful for their service! 

We want to welcome the following individuals to the Board of Directors: Katherine Farrington, Kathryn Lockie, Michael Cheney and Riki Kravitz. I will be continuing on as President. 

Next, Dr. Michael Thompson is the well-deserved and distinguished recipient of the Recognition Award. This award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to our field of eliminating sexual violence. He will be recognized at the conference next year. 

Each year the MnATSA organization is excited to give both grants and scholarships. Our Grant Recipient this year is The Gilead Project: Uncommon Conversation. Please see this link for more information:

In 2017, the MnATSA Education and Public Policy Committee announced the creation of the Jacob Wetterling Scholarship. This scholarship will provide a full MnATSA conference registration to two individuals who work in the field of victim advocacy and/or sexual abuse prevention. The Jacob Wetterling Scholarships this year went to Jessica Clausen from Iowa Total Care and Bridget Williams from Youth & Family Services, Rapid City, SD. Due to the cancellation of the conference this year, both are welcome back in 2021!

We are committed to providing trainings this year; however, until there is more stability with the current circumstances there is nothing specifically planned. We will continue to keep membership updated! Who knows…maybe we will go virtual.

The Annual MnATSA Conference is April 21-23, 2021. Mark your calendars!

Please stay well, 

Amber M. Lindeman, Psy.D., L.P.

MnATSA President on behalf of the Board of Directors


Visit Our Education & Public Policy Section to Read About:

Halloween and Sexual Abuse Prevention: The Mythical “Halloween Effect”



MnATSA Statement on Sexual Harassment





Residency Restrictions

On December 11, 2018, Hennepin County Judge Susan Robiner issued an important ruling regarding residency restrictions for individuals who have sexually offended. The ruling only applies to Dayton, Minnesota, but it has statewide implications.  The Minnesota Chapter of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (MnATSA) believes Judge Robiner’s ruling is responsible and well-reasoned.  The efficacy of residency restrictions has been extensively researched, resulting in ATSA’s position, that the trend of local or state residency laws, broadly and indiscriminately applied to those who have sexually offended are unwarranted and do not contribute to public safety.


MnATSA members live and work in our communities and share common goals for community safety. MnATSA believes that the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) and the Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC) responsibly apply current research and best practices to the treatment and management of individuals who have sexually offended. When implementing carefully considered judicial orders, DHS and DOC professionals capably work to integrate unique client needs with appropriate levels of community supervision to help ensure that carefully screened, eligible individuals return successfully to the community.  Public safety remains the top priority.